Mills Touristic Circuit of Argontim

Celorico de Basto
Description

The mills circuit of Argontim is formed by a set of ten recovered mills of water, located in a small tract along the river Bugio. The trail goes along the watercourses which involves the mills, that where submitted to small interventions to allow the passage of visitors. This set also includes one old sawmill wood, build over the river; it used water as an energy source. In this sawmill is installed the Museum Center of “Planalto da Lameira” which approaches the work of sawmill, ethnographic and archaeological themes. The existence of a vast set of mills in the county of “Rego” is linked with the traditional production of cereals. We don’t know when the first mills had been build, but there were already references in 1072 in the donation of “Vila Boa “to the Monastery of “Pombeiro”.

Location: Celorico de Basto
Casa de Docim

Casa de Docim

Fafe is known as the living room of Minho and is praised for its welcoming spirit and its art of...
More info
Casa do Campo

Casa do Campo

Casa do Campo, whose main building was built in the 17 th century, has been with the Meireles...
More info
Quinta das Vinhas

Quinta das Vinhas

The cuisine in the council of Fafe is enjoyed by locals and visitors. Restaurant Quinta das...
More info
Caffé Caffé Restaurant

Caffé Caffé Restaurant

Cosy restaurant with homemade food. Specialities include wood-fired lamb, stuffed codfish and...
More info
Comments There are no comments from our visitors. Be the first to comment.
Evaluate: Make your evaluation